Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7,856 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm posting a picture for Wizard of Law after he deleted the previous double posting.

Again, is this a correct buttstock for this rifle: Mannlicher Schoenauer 1961 MCA (comb/cheekpiece profile)

Attachments

·
Registered
33 Posts
Ed, thanks very much for your help. I'm new to this. The new thread and your post with my image look just fine. I'll reiterate the issue for anyone interested: I own a 1961 Mannlicher Schoenauer MCA carbine that I acquired several years ago on Gunbroker from an individual in the Midwest, who was selling it for a friend to whose father the carbine had belonged. It's in very nice condition and I cannot see any evidence the wood has been refinished but the profile of the comb has a dip in it I have not seen the like of on any of the images of MCA rifles available on the Web. What I'm trying to determine is whether or not the comb has been modified or if it is original. I'd appreciate advice from any of you that are MS knowledgeable. Thanks.

·
Registered
6,881 Posts
W.o.L, I have seen that a number of times and in each instance it was an "aftermarket" shaping for the particular owner who had a wider facial measurement around the cheeks to enable him a more comfortable interface with the stock when the site picture is correct. It certainly is not an OEM offering.

·
Registered
3,970 Posts
Most of the MC 1961 had a 'hollow out' on the cheekpiece. Many people said this caused the cheek to get bruised and I even knew a guy who put talcum on this cheek on the range,

45 years ago I hunted with a MC in 8x68s, a heavy hitting cartridge; no bruise cheeks for me. wish I had that 8x68s today (berdan primers!)

·
Registered
33 Posts
Mannlicher-Schoenauer 1961 MCA combs