Shooters Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been thinking recently of acquiring another levergun more for the range than for hunting. I am interested in the Marlin 336 Cowboy in 38-55. I sure like the looks of the Cowboy and I am looking for something that I can afford to shoot all day both economically and physically.

I have read in various places about varying bore diameters with the 38-55. Are there any Marlin 336 Cowboy owners out there? Have you slugged the barrel and if so what diameters were they?

·
Registered
103 Posts
This topic has been discussed on the marlin bb for some time. I appears that the bores are .377-.378 with an undersized throat. I know the new winchester factory ammo is using a .375 bullet. I have never heard of any bragging about the accuracy of a new marlin unless they were shooting cast bullets sized at .378 or so. I am just telling you what others have posted, I have no first hand knowledge of the marlin cowboy, yet.

·
Registered
28 Posts
WELL>>>if bragging is what you want to hear, I'll be happy to indulge you!!!
I own 2 Marlin 336 Cowboys in 38-55. Both slugged out,one at 379.3 the other at 379.0. I shoot both with superb accuracy. BUT it took some time to find a bullet that they will shoot well. Actually it took longer till somene made a jacketed bullet @.377 Barnes does now.377.
I have used several different weights and makes of casts. Bear Tooth included as well as Meister,Cast Performance, Oregon etc. Hands down the 377 Barnes jacketed shoots best. And yes I tried .379 casts .378 casts,.377 casts.Had too many problems with poor accuracy/weak gas checks/ in a hunting weight powder charge. My accurate load for both hunting deer/blk bear and I would pump one into an elk or moose as well under 150 yds is as follows: Barnes .377 250 gr over 32.5 gr of H322 Starline brass with a good but not real heavy roll crimp.