Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Be gentle with me, as I am a 66 year old Rookie at this. My Marlin 39A has a serial number of 535. Any ideas?
Thanks, Sundance

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,745 Posts
Welcome. 3 digits????? Wow..... that would certainly suggest first year production. You're getting the number off of the tang, right? No chance it was longer and partly lost (drilled through, etc.)?

This site doesn't come up with any hits -

http://oldguns.net/sn_php/marlinlookup.php

·
Banned
421 Posts
Look for a letter prefix that may be well ahead of the numbers too.
Welcome to the forum! How about some pictures of that 39A? That's one of my favorite guns!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good Morning, Thanks for your reply. My wife and I both looked, hard, at the serial number. It is under the lever. We cannot find a letter anywhere. I don't have a photo of the gun at this time. I can take one. It looks like any 39A. It is not a Golden. It has been re-blued and looks very good.
Thanks again, Sundance

·
Registered
3,267 Posts
[My Marlin 39A has a serial number of 535. Any ideas?]

Every year's production had three-digit serial numbered guns, since Marlin started each year's numbering anew, usually with a consecutive letter prefix, then with a 2-digit date code.

If it has only a three digit SN, with no letter prefix, your rifle is most likely either a very early (ca.1940) M39a, or a waaay earlier Model 39 ( There IS a difference).

Some more details, even a few pics, would help immensely.

The refinishing wiped out the original receiver finish, which changed from color case-hardening to bluing - so the stamped markings on both barrel and receiver tangs would help.

BTW - If the stock is original to the receiver, the same SN will be stamped into the buttstock wood, in the area of the receiver tang inletting.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7