Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I’m a translator from Germany, currently working on an action/thriller novel by an American author. There’s a passage in which he describes a shooter taking aim at a long range target using a mildot reticle. Either that passage is written too weirdly or I’m just too stupid to figure it out, so I thought I might ask a couple of experienced shooters for help. Personally, I don’t know any, which brought me to this forum. One more thing: I am not a shooter myself, and in general I don’t have much of an idea how firearms, scopes and reticles work. So, if any of you would be so generous to try and explain this passage to a layman so I can translate it well and make it accessible to german readers, that would be awesome and I would be grateful for your help.
Here it comes:

"He pivoted slightly, found a bush coned in snow, which he took to be of three feet girth. By covering it in the scope with mil-dots and racking through the math - the black mass covered two dots; multiply the assumed one meter in heigth by one thousand and divide by two to get the approximation of a thousand yards: say, less than a thousand but more than nine hundred yards he held four dots high."

·
The Shadow (Moderator)
8,302 Posts
There are a lot of problems with that passage, but here is some info for you.

Mil in Mil-Dot comes from a unit of measurement, called the miliradian. If he is a military type, using yards, feet, and meters together is incorrect, but that is another issue. Also, if he is using a true mil-dot FFP(first focal plane) scope, I can't fathom why he "held" over the target. The whole point would be to dial the correction, unless in a hurry; which is doesn't sound like is the case.