Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI guys,

I see my thread is under review cause there is suspicion that im a company or something. Not the case at all. I am a 22 year old student, relativly new to handloading. I just got a 22 ruger, and the slide on the clip's been pissing me off. Any inventions i comment about on a post are my own thoughts, they dont exist or anything. So i think its unfair to be hassled for "Spamming" or whatever. I am asking for opinions on my ideas, isnt that what this forums all about?

Ben

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,720 Posts
There are already commercial products that do what you propose, FYI. I have some of them.

We do have issues all the time with spammers, people trying to advertise on the owner's dime, etc. So .... given that your membership is free here, please try to follow the guidelines as best you can and understand you may not agree with all of them.

·
Super Moderator
13,444 Posts
It's not an active site. Just a registered name.

If the the thumb button is driving you nuts, in addition to all the plastic loader gadgets, one of the best ever made was one Ron Persans had 30 years ago. Just a stubby knurled knob with a hole just deep enough to fit over the Ruger button and give your thumb purchase to hold the knob down with.

When I misplaced my Persans knob for a time, I made a substitute that was almost as good. I simply cut a .45 ACP case down so the wall was just deep enough to capture the knob so I could push down on it with my thumb. I showed this to a guy at the range one day who laughed and asked why I didn't just use 3/8" or 7/16" nut? Because it didn't occur to me, that's why. I tried one, and it worked fine, too. I suppose the .45 case saved me the cost of the nut, but otherwise I don't see an advantage of one over the other.

Any of those just give your thumb a lot more surface area to push against, and that takes all the discomfort and slipping out of it.