Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I am relatively new to the topic being discussed, however, I have a pre 64 Model 70 Featherweight .270 which I am in need of a new scope. I currently have a Simmons Pro Hunter 3-9x40 which is just getting me by for now until I can acquire a more permanent scope for it. My problem is, that this scope requires high mounts and I was wondering if there are any scopes that any of you have used or have experience with that do not require the high mounts. I'm looking in the price range of around $300 and any help would be greatly appreciated.

On a side note, most of the use of my gun is for big game hunting, up to and including elk and I typically would limit my shots to a maximum of 300 yards.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Leupold vx II 3-9x40, about 300$ most places. I don't have a pre 64 mod 70 but I am suprised you need high rings with a 40mm obj. Is it because of the raised band on the pre 64 barrels? Otherwise you could go with a vxL leupold but you won't get one for 300$ Good luck

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Leupold vx II 3-9x40, about 300$ most places. I don't have a pre 64 mod 70 but I am suprised you need high rings with a 40mm obj. Is it because of the raised band on the pre 64 barrels? Otherwise you could go with a vxL leupold but you won't get one for 300$ Good luck
I'm not sure exactly why, but the bolt does not clear the Simmons scope that I have unless I use the high rings.

·
Registered
787 Posts
With its clarity, a nice Leupold 2x7 with a 33mm objective would be all you might need and can be mounted a good bit lower. In scopes, power never makes up for clarity (resolution). Actually, a good fixed 6x would probably be ideal.

·
Banned
6,248 Posts