Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, and gals...

I did a search for optics but came up dry so I figured I would just ask. I would like to purchase a good inexpensive sight for my mossberg 590 persuader. I see them rang from 30 dollars (tasco) to 1000 or higher...

I don't really want to spend more than 100 on optics but will if I have to, what is a good set of optics that won't break the bank but will be reliable in most situations for my 590. I would prefer something that will aid my sight picture instead of a scope. I am kind of new to the shooting / hunting world so I am hoping to get some good info from you folks.

Have a great and blessed day.

·
Registered
4 Posts
First of all welcome! Now what are you planning to do with your 590 that you need optics for?

·
Registered
547 Posts
I always liked the idea of a red-dot sight on a 12ga. As mentioned above, if we don't know what you want to do with the gun its hard to help.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
First, Thanks for the warm welcome it is nice to see friendly folks online form time to time lol.

I like to target shoot slugs from 50-100 yards (my local range only goes to 100). I know many are opposed to using a shotgun like that but I enjoy it so go figure I guess. I also want the site for home defense. I may want to start clay shooting with it, but I think the iron sight is probably good for that as well as bird / squirrel hunting and the like. Before I go hunting I have to get a plug for the magazine and fins a longer barrel with a choke (I think). I am going to try to find someone to kind of take me hunting first though and watch what they do and leave my gun at home the first time.

I guess the short answer would be a good all around site....