Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello there. i am new to hunting and and rifles and i have a simple question to ask. I can get a .303 britsh enfield for really cheap and i was wondering if this would be a could first step into the sport. I will be mostly hunting moose, elk and deer. How is this rifle for ease maintanence, ease of buying and mounting scope mounts, ammuniton and accessories for and anything else i should be aware of. Or if there is a different rifle you would recommend i purchase instead? Thank you, It is much appreciated

·
Super Moderator
3,829 Posts
Welcome to the Forum

My first rifle was a .303 British Enfield from WWI. Ammo is readily available and the .303 has taken a lot of game over the years. Mounting a scope is not too difficult. I prefer "no drill" S & K Insta-Mounts on military rifles and they have a website at www.scopemounts.com. Cleaning and maintaining an Enfield is just like taking care of any other rifle. Hope this helps. All the best...
Gil

·
Registered
13,246 Posts
My first deer rifle was a 7.7 Jap, a WWII combat rifle, and although it has somewhat more power than a 303 British, there's no reason you couldn't use that classic round for hunting the game you mentioned. Be sure to purchase soft-pointed hunting ammunition for it and do a good bit of practice because the effectiveness of any cartridge has more to do with shot placement than bullet weight or velocity.

With all of that being said, if you can get a 30-'06, 308 Winchester, or another more powerful cartridge, their increased energy and modern design may well improve your odds, especially at longer ranges.

·
Registered
3,749 Posts
How much is Cheap? I ask because for under $300 you can buy a Marlin XL-7 in 30'06. It will be lighter, more accurate, is made for scope mounting, and has a great trigger.