Shooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, this is my first post and I hope it's in the right place. If not I apologize.

I am new to cowboy guns and being unable to find a Vaquero in my price range at the moment, I just purchased what looks like a very lightly used Cattleman Hombre in 357 for $325.

I bought a box of Remington 357 125 grain jsp to try the gun out with. then the problems started...immediately.

The cartridges slipped into the cylinder slick as a whistle. The gun fired fine. Then came time to eject and reload. 3 or 4 of the empty casings would not eject. they would come out maybe 1/16 to 1/8 of an inch and hang. I put extra force on the ejector until I thought I might break it so I quit seeing it was no use.

I ended up using the cylinder pin to force them out with and it was still difficult, but I got them out. So what gives here? They dropped in fine, why wont they come out? Cheap over expanding Remington brass? Messed up tolerances on the cylinder? This is very disapointing.

I looked on Uberti's website and they said the cyliders might be fouled, so I cleaned the whole gun using Breakfree CLP. Then I wiped down some of the brass i had problems with and tried to reinsert into the cylinder...no go, it hangs and wont go in the cylinder.

anybody else run in to this?...or maybe know what the problem is? I really don't want to put any more money in this gun right now...and am ready to sell it at this point. help!...thanks!...VV

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,654 Posts
Scratches on the brass? Could be burrs in the cylinder, have seen this before with other guns.

If it's not that, then you may have serious issues.

·
36,654 Posts