Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have H322 powder, Remington brass and CCI BR2 primers...I'm looking for some advice on powder dosage.

I've looked at Hodgdens online data and also a few reloading manuals...but I thought I'd reach out for some loads that have worked well for some of you guys (and gals?)

The rifle is a Marlin 1895 (not the Guide Gun) and I'd like to get them up around 1800-1850 fps...

I'm brand new at loading cast lead...I shot my first ones (330 grains) a couple of weeks ago. It didn't work out so good...I didn't lap the barrel first :D (I knew better than that...but did it anyway)

They were accurate until my barrel leaded up...I was shooting them a bit too fast was part of the problem, they were not hard enough.

I have some 405's on the way to my house as we speak....can't wait to see what they'll do.

·
Banned
668 Posts
Marlin 1895 45-70
405 grain Cast LFNGC seated to 2.56"
Winchester brass, 2.1" trim
CCI 200 primer
45 grains Reloder 10X START
48.5 grains Reloder 10X MAXIMUM ≈1721 fps
40 grain Reloder 7 START
44 grain Reloder 7 MAXIMUM ≈1791 fps
48.5 grains H322 START
54 grains H322 MAXIMUM 1935-2000 fps

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank You...I was curious what the 10x would do.

Dr. A gave me some load data on Marlin Owners forum for the H322...I think 50-52 grains should be about right.

·
Registered
784 Posts
50g H322 under 425g BTB gives me 1963 fps from my guide gun. Look at other velocitiies for this powder for an idea of potential pressure issues.

I would not put any more pressure in my GS than this load. It is very dangerous to use hand-me-down loads without doing a rigorous workup and evaluation. The 45/70 case can blow up your gun without giving any over-pressure indications on the components.