Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a great forum and one of the few with a M94 subforum. I've been wanting one for a while and just picked up this nice 1928 Trapper M94 in .30 WCF.
Very clean, bore is like new, all original finish and parts. It appears that it hasn't been shot much.
At the range the gun is grouping (with my old eyes,lol) 1" @ 50 yrds.
I've been hunting for the last 20 years with a Marlin 1895 in 45-70 but can't wait to kill a Deer this fall with this Winchester.
I have a couple questions but will post another thread.
It appears I can't post pics, I think I read that I need a certain amount of posts so ASAP, I'll get pics up.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,657 Posts
25 and 10 days on the forum. You can use a host like Photobucket in the interim.

·
Registered
445 Posts
Welcome to the world of Winchesters. Tis a fine carbine you have there. Good photos help all us collectors and this one has me puzzled. Did you check the year of manufacture ? 1928? A few things dont add up to a 1928 date. 1925 was the last year a saddlering was used however the buttstock dates from 1936 to 1942, the tang markings are from 1931 to 1939, the barrel markings date from 1925 to 1937. The rear sight while not difinative dates to the mid thirtys and later. May I ask what the barel lenght is? Anyway fine looking carbine. If I may make a suggestion, remove the buttplate with the proper screwdriver and check for identifing marks. Many rifles and shotguns had owners name, initials, dates ect scratched either on the underside of the buttplate or on the buttstock.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Dam, I had my suspicions about the rear sight but all that really throws me for a loop.
I check the serial number and yup, it comes up at 1073*** so 1928.
I can't understand because as you mentioned, I looked it up and yes, 1925 was supposed to be the last year of the saddle-ring..