Shooters Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there - I am new to this forum and shooting in general. Ive been hunting for 2 years now since I have got someone to hunt with and have the money for it. I just purchased a Rem 700 VSF in the 22-250 for varmint mainly coyote. I live in Southwest PA. I attached a Nikon Monarch BDC 4-16 scope and have a bi pod as well.

I was wondering what cartridge I should use and if anyone had any tips for me regarding hunting with this rifle and target shooting with this rifle.

Thank you.

·
Inactive member
1,648 Posts
Clean the barrel extremely good before you shoot the first shot. Denatured alcohol and several passes with a bronze brush will help.

Be sure to use a good rod guide and one piece rod.

Pay the little extra and buy high quality bullets. With ones, I can't say because I only shoot my reloads but quality loads make huge difference.

·
Banned
467 Posts
Nice rifle, nice scope.
In general the faster the twist the heavier the bullet you can use. I do not know twist rate of Your rifle but I would use the lighter bullets if you have slower twist and heavier bullets if you have fast twist. Any website that sells ammo will have several buulet offerings and you can readily discern the weight range offered 22-ed0 has an excellent reputation for laser like shooting. - always start with at least 3 diifferent bullets !ox of 20 in different weights and just go shooting either starting at 50 or 100 yards to get the scope checked out and zero'd

·
Registered
11,950 Posts
Guess I can't answer your question about factory ammo since I've fed all my 22-250's handloads. I'd just buy several different brands of ammo with various weight bullets and see what your rifle prefers.