Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all, I'm relatively new to shooting / setting up rifles. I have been shooting them for about 8 years or so now. I recently bought a new Savage storm bolt action in 7mm-08 and had quite a time sighting it in. Out of the box, it was shooting about 36" low and right at 100 yards. I had to run the turrets over and up so far the scope ran out of up adjustment. I sent the rifle back to Savage about a month ago for them to have a look at it. I haven'bnt heard back yet.
I just got my new Browning BAR Mark 3 in 7mm-08. I installed a picatinny style one piece mount, Burris rings, and a Leupold VX-Freedom 3-9x50 scope. With the scope optically centered (using the mirror method) the rifle shoots 18" right and 22" low. It shot a 1" group with 3 rounds of factory ammo but the POI seems way out of whack to me. I tried another scope with the same results.
Is this typical performance of a new gun?? I had much higher hopes for the Browning.

·
The Shadow (Moderator)
9,363 Posts
hello all, I'm relatively new to shooting / setting up rifles. I have been shooting them for about 8 years or so now. I recently bought a new Savage storm bolt action in 7mm-08 and had quite a time sighting it in. Out of the box, it was shooting about 36" low and right at 100 yards. I had to run the turrets over and up so far the scope ran out of up adjustment. I sent the rifle back to Savage about a month ago for them to have a look at it.
Is this typical performance of a new gun??
Don't use a broad enough brush to say "a new gun", 99% of the time it's something simple like JW said.
MOST gunshops, or inexperienced folks will put the wrong bases on; or put them on Backwards.