Shooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok I'm a newbie here so HI. I have been searching around for quite some time and have narrowed my search for a new scope. I have a rem. model 7 7mm-08 that is my ALL purose hunting rifle. From pig, coyote, deer and elk. I have been using a cheaper tasko(varmit 6-18x42) on it for about 12 years and have killed everything I shot at. I am looking to finally get some better optics on it. I have narrowed it to the burris fullfield 2 with BDC reticle, the nikon buckmaster with BDC and the bushnell elite 4200 with standard reticle. All scopes will be in the 3-9x40 size. I would love to throw more money at one but its not an option as all these are very close in price(i can get the elite new for $221). The things i dont like is the BDC on the nikon is dots, the burris has a full rotating eyepiece(no flip up covers can be used) and the 4200 in this power doesnt come with BDC or its sign. higher cost. Let me know your opinions. Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
668 Posts
The Vortex Diamondback 3-9x40mm with the BDC reticle is very nice for $199. Much better optics than all those you list and has the best warranty in the business.

Vortex will repair or replace your Vortex product for any reason at NO CHARGE TO YOU. It doesn't matter how it happened, whose fault it was, or where you purchased it.​
  • Unlimited lifetime Warranty
  • Fully transferable
  • No warranty card to fill out
  • No receipt needed to hang on to

·
Registered
13,246 Posts
I would go with the Bushnell Elite 4200, hands down. If you read reviews of better glass, the Elite series gets very high marks, for the price range they're in. The thing to do is look through the glass on each before you make any decisions. Also, for truly long-range shooting, I've found any of the BDC reticles to be a hindrance, as they obscure too much of the target.

·
Piney Woods Moderator
6,227 Posts