Shooters Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am on my school's rifle team and i am having some trouble. you see, i can shoot a 70 out of 100 in the prone position, and a 60 in the kneeling, but my off-hand/standing position is HEAVILY lacking. I need some advice for a Remington .22 shooter. I was told it's all in the skeletal position, but i don't know what the proper position is. our guns are about 13 pounds, bolt action, and single shot.

all help is appreciated. PM me or reply. THANKS

C G

·
Banned
68 Posts
G'day young CadetGambino,
I have been shooting 3 position Military rifle for about 25 years and have over that time achieved 9 possibles in offhand at 100m (i.e 15 shots 15 bulls firing within the 3 minute time limit.)
Lets get you started;
1. When holding such a heavy rifle take a stance whereby most of the weight is balanced on your forward arm. This may mean that the normal grip may have to be more to the rear than you are used to. Make sure this arm is vertical or near so as it is going to oppose the full weight of the rifle. Tuck the back of your elbow against the side of your chest for added support
2 When you first bring the rifle to your shoulder do so with your eyes closed. Open them and see where your rifle is pointed. If not pointing at your target move YOUR FEET and repeat until in the most comfortable position, your sights are aligned with the target. Using a couple of target patches, mark the position of your toe and heal for each foot so that you can repeat this position for each shot.
3 Sighting on your foresight concentrate and focus on it until it is crystal clear. The target should now appear as a blur in the background. You can practice this every day without firing a shot by holding out your thumb and focus on it while moving against the background.