Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Gentlemen,

I am new to the fold, and bullet casting, so a big hello. Although I am not new to cast bullet shooting. I have decided to start casting my own because I am just not satisfied with commercial cast bullet quality, plus, I think it will be fun. A couple of questions. What should I start out with for equipment? Lyman has a mster casting kit available, but I can see myself upgrading the furnace, and spending more money. Should I get bottom pour , etc? Any info would be appreciated.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,235 Posts
Get a copy of either the Lyman or RCBS cast bullet handbook first, and read it cover to cover.

It will be a lot easier to make intelligent decisions after you have a little background and reference material.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
MikeG said:
Get a copy of either the Lyman or RCBS cast bullet handbook first, and read it cover to cover.

It will be a lot easier to make intelligent decisions after you have a little background and reference material.
Mike,

Thanks for the reply. I have the Lyman handbook, and although it has a wealth of knowledge about the process, it really doesnt inform me on what equipment to buy, or not to buy, or the quality of said equipment. Im just curious as to who uses what and their experiences.

·
Beartooth Regular
7,776 Posts
Hi, jpsw44:

Welcome to the forum. I was in the same situation a couple of years ago. The locally cast bullets were atrocious and so was the cost of shipping on Marshall's excellent bullets.

The kit's a good deal, costing about 30% less than the individually priced items. The Mini-Mag is about the minimum useful unit, but you can get by with it. Older kits have the orange painted 450 sizer instead of the black (or grey?) 4500 sizer. Look for a discount on the older kits.