Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to shot-shell reloading but inherited two MEC presses from my dad's garage which i have gotten cleaned up, replaced a few parts and are in good working order. I have quite a load of components as well that i would like to make use of if possible for shooting clays.

Here is a list of what i have:

Hulls
20g - Peters Target 2 3/4 (about 1000)
12g - Peters Blue 2 3/4 (about 500)
12g - Win AA red low brass 2 3/4 (about 250)
12g - Win AA red high brass 2 3/4 (about 250)

Powders
1 lb of WIN 540
1 lb of WIN 473AA
1 lb of 20/28

Primers
Nearly full box of (1000) WIN 209 Primers

Wads
12g - WAA12 (250)
12g - WAA12r (250)
12g - WAA12blue (250)
20g - Rem SP20 (200)
20g - WAA20 (500)

Shot
#4, #6, #8 Lead Shot (1) 25lb bag of each

I am looking for some advice on loads for specifically the 20 Gauge hulls that i have. They seem to be in very good condition. It is hard to find data on the Peters hulls. I do have the Lyman 3rd edition... and am planning on picking up the most recent one as well. But have not been able to put together anything with all of these components. Seeing as my dad used to reload both 12g and 20g using these components... i can't find a recipe that matches everything!

Many thanks for any advice you may have.

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
I have an old Winchester booklet that shows these but its packed away from when I moved.:( I used the 540 in 20 ga AA type hulls to build nearly 3" magnum loads of #6 shot when lead was still legal for ducks. I also used the 473, likely for lighter loads but I would not venture to guess at the load data. I hope all of these were stored well because heat can be an enemy that will change all sorts of things.:confused: The wads and hulls will become brittle and the primer and powders can change in strength. I've had this happen to me personally, mostly from storing things in Southern attics.:eek: