Shooters Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I am new to reloading and this post will make that very clear. As I was accumulating my gear and reading all that I can I saw one post where they improved their accuracy with some powder by switching from a large rifle primer to a large rifle magnum primer. So when I went out looking at gear I picked up a box of large rifle magnum primers. I had to look at them and did not realize how they are packed so there are still one or two lurking in the hidden cracks of my truck.

Well then when I finally got all the supplies I needed to reload I started looking for loads for my 22-250. I could not find that post and did not see a magnum primer listed for any build.

So I got a box of just Large Rifle. I probably could use them when I get around to reloading my 7mm Rem Mag so they are not a total loss but I am somewhat wondering about that post I read and wanted to know if going from LR to Mag is one of the variables that you try when working up an effective load or is it just plain dumb and dangerous. I only have purchased Varget powder so far but after so many suggestions on my other post that I try h380 I may dig a little deeper and go buy that too.

I really like the whole process and each new load is like a mystery as to what you might find. Kind of like a search for the holy grail. But I cannot believe how much I already spent and how much more I will likely spend. The rational side is saying that I could have purchased more ammo that I will ever shoot during my time left on this earth and spent far less time. But who ever wants to live a rational life?

·
Registered
600 Posts