Shooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i appreciate the reply   on 223 vs 22-250 my next ? may seem funny but i'm very new to reloading and finding brass for my 45\70 got a little harder. what if any is the pros and cons to using nickle over brass cartridges and do you need to full size new cartridges and should you use a nickle primer in a nickle case vice verse in brass

·
Beartooth Regular
2,146 Posts
Hi Idlco,
     I agree with Kevin that the .223's the way to go- you'll never look back. As far as nickel goes- I don't think it makes a great deal of difference. I've only used it in .357. I believe the only purpose of nickel plating is to improve corrosion resistance, which for most applications is a moot point. If you are going to carry your cartridges in a leather belt for a long period of time (ie YEARS) the nickel is better. The color of the primer makes no difference. Just use the proper type- large rifle in your 45-70- from whatever manufacturer is available to you.
       And finally, yes it's a good idea to full length size your new brass before loading. It trues the case up and removes any dents that can occur in new brass. Hope this helps!      ID

·
Registered
90 Posts
I once read a thought on nickel.
  It made me think....   When some of the nickel comes off, and slides down your barrel along with your bullet, what damage is this doing?
Nickel is much harder than the copper or lead.  

I also don’t see a great deal of benefit from it either.

Scout.

·
Registered
240 Posts
I use nickled Speer and Federal cases in .44 magnum. The cases clean very easily (especially if you don't have a tumbler) and they just look great!

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,312 Posts
One overlooked benefit of "nickel"-plated cases is that they are a little easier to find in the grass.  So... I rate them as quite useful in the .45 auto, less so in other cartridges.