Shooters Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've never used Nikon optics before, but I was in need of a new pair of binoculars for this upcoming hunting season. Let me be the first to say I hate cheap optics. Yep, I'm going to dime them out: Simmons, Bushnell, Tasco, and others all use plastic for their lenses, resulting in blurry views. All of my rifles have Leupold scopes, except one I bought used with a Mauser scope on it (I don't know anything about Mauser scopes, but it works well).

So anyway, I've heard Nikon will give just as clear a picture as Leupold without the hefty price tag. So I ordered a pair of 16X from an online source. When they came, I drove to a nearby Civil War battlefield and toured it (the Army has me in Virginia temporarily). I used the binoculars to see things from the Generals' various perspectives.

Let me tell you: Nikon is worth the price. I only paid $115 for these binos, and they were so clear I could read license plates at 3/4 of a mile. Ok, I could EASILY read license plates at 3/4 of a mile. I would hazard a guess that it wouldn't be impossible at a mile.

16X is a mite on the big side, but they are light for their size. Even so, wearing them around my neck all day was a PITA, so I ordered the shoulder harness-looking doohicky that looks like a binocular bra. I haven't gotten it yet.

I haven't used these in foul weather yet to get a really solid idea of their performance, but thus far I'm *VERY* happy. I think I might try a Nikon rifle scope next instead of paying for the Leupolds.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)