Shooters Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has any member had personal experience in shooting the new model Norinko ? Published reviews in the usual gun magazines from time to time recommended real "dogs".

Specifically, occasional use as a ranch rifle for off the shoulder( low power scope) under 100yds. Use by different female persons.

Likely a shortening of the stock will be necessary.

Georgvus

·
Super Moderator
13,679 Posts
Georgvus,

Welcome to the forum. Rules are to join in, have fun, and play nicely with the rest of us kids.

I'll move your post over to the rifle forum where it will likely garner more opinions. I have no experience with that Norinco, personally, (Norinco got locked out of exporting to the US over much of the last decade) but I can say the .223 has proven to be an excellent ranch rifle chambering. One reason is, whether cutting down stocks or barrels or replacing a stock with a flyweight synthetic, there's really no such thing as making a .223 too light because its recoil is so mild.

P.S. I took a look at the rifle specs. The 6.3 lb weight (approximate because the density of wood is a variable) is good. The Monte Carlo stock cheek piece may get under foot if you intend to have it in a saddle holster. The barrel twist is 12". That is too slow for many heavy .224 bullets and even for some lighter bullets that are long shaped. But bullets that are flat base or blunt nosed will be OK. If you can find the bullet length for ammunition you are considering using, multiply the weight of the bullet in grains times 0.0052 and add 0.455 to it to get close to the maximum length in inches that a bullet should be for your 12 inch .224 twist.