Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all, newbie here and just getting started using the forum. Not really a collector
but do love to shoot and have done so since I was 7yrs old.
On to the reason for my post (2 actually). I have a box of unopened BLANKS from the Frankford Arsenal. Dark blue label, black lettering, marked as follows;

20 cartridges
Blank
caliber .30 M1909
for rifles and automatic guns
Ammunition Lot F.A. 147
Frankford Arsenal

By the lot #, can they be identified as to age or when manufactured?
Is it safe to assume these are 30-06 cartridges (unopened)?

2nd box Manufactured by Winchester in a sealed box of 20 marked as follows;

.30 ARMY FULL PATCH
(picturer of cartridge)
For Krag Jorgensen and Winchester Model 95 Repeating Arms
Box has red W on both side panels

Again, any clue to how old and are these "collectable? No lot # on this one and I'm not going to open it to look for cartridge info (30-40 Krag)

Thanks all. Next I have to figure on posting photos:eek:

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Photos would be a great help. Go to photobucket and open an account then download from you computer. Then copy and paste here.

Your blanks (1st box) are 30-06 and they are the M1909 blank which is very common. Usually headstamps date cartridges like this but not with blanks as reloads and seconds were often used. I don't know how to date thru the lot # but I believe these were probably made before 1920.

The 2nd box is 30-40 Krag (hence .30 Army). Is there any other info on the box, regarding bullet weight or such? The full paper patch indicates early, perhaps turn of the century or so, but you give little to go on as to dateing.