Shooters Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had been hunting with an old war relic for ten years that my Uncle had brought home from WWII (Tarawa). It was an Arisaka model 99 type2 in 7.7mm. It is the two piece paratroop rifle and seemed like it was longer and heavier than it was when walking with it through the woods. I had, up to that point, filled my tag with it every year for the decade I had owned the rifle. It was opening morning and I had driven up from 80° Florida to hunt in 9° Michigan once again. I got setup under a large pine tree overlooking a xmas tree farm I had been successful in for the past five years. Shortly the sun started rising. Thats when I started hearing the snorts coming from more than a few directions. As the light of day helped with visibilty there stood a half a dozen Does staring in my direction. I had been very still but figured Id been sniffed out. Busted. Does werent an option on my out of state tag so I was just a motionless spectator. More than one of these girls snorted and stamped the ground staring in my direction. As they meandered off out followed a respectable eight point buck with his attention captured by the ladies. His last mistake. The old jap 7.7 roared and down he went in a heap. I had gotten used to aiming low with the 100m military iron peep sights when the target was around 50m away. This spooked the does and they shot left to right across a few neatly spaced rows of 6' unharvested xmas pines. Made a hard 90° right turn and headed straight up the row at me. All I could see was a dozen big white eyes bearing down on me! When they reached my position where I stood frozen in place they were zipping past me on both sides in a blur! One of the does smacked the muzzel of my old 7.7 so hard it nearly knocked it out of the death-grip I had on it! I hadnt even had the chance to rack another shell into the chamber! After I gained my composure I staggered over to my the buck and fi