Shooters Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to wild pig hunting in Western Wisconsin. According to the WDNR, wild porkers are in abundant supply and are requested to be shot on sight (provided that one has a small game license, that is), because of the extreme damage to wildlife habitat. A buddy wants me to go wild pig hunting (Eastern Eau Claire County and Western Clark Co). I know that wild porkers are an intelligent animal and can be vicious given the opportunity to "even the score" with its oppressors. I wondered about their eyesight, sense of smell and hearing. I intend on using my trusty MARLIN M-1895 for my weapon of choice. My ammo will be my loads, 445 gr cast with a 0.330" flat meplat, driven at 1587 fps. The accuracy is less than 1-1/4" at 100 yd and my lever action is a decent fast-handling rifle.
Thanks.

Attachments

·
Piney Woods Moderator
6,223 Posts
Eyesight is not one of their strong points but hearing and smell are above average. I usually locate them by finding their feeding areas which can be located by looking for ground that has been rooted up in their search for food. They will have the ground tore up like a tractor with a plow has been thru the woods. I normally find them in hardwood bottoms where there is lots of acorns and mud holes to wallow in but they will also frequent crop fields. Your 1895 will be more than adaquate for the task. I usually use my 1894 in 44 mag as it is easier to carry. Good luck. I am not a pork fan but do like pork sausage and bacon.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
37,578 Posts