Shooters Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title indicates, I did something stupid that I've never done before, and nothing happened, like I thought it might, so all is good on my end.
However, I NEVER make a habit of priming brass before I put it in the Polisher/Case Cleaner, but somehow that happened a day or so ago, and was not realized until I was taking the cases out this morning and found 20 pieces of 7x57 brass with new primers!
My question is this, since the disaster I would have expected didn't happen; Should I de-prime these cases, and replace with new primers? Should I just toss these cases, although they look great? Or, can I just load these cases and fire them off?
In the back of my mind, I have always imagined that if a PRIMED CASE got in that Media, and from all that shaking and vibrating, those primers would "Pop".....but surprisingly they didn't.

Thanks for any replies!
Respectfully, Russ...

·
Registered
136 Posts
Could try using a flashlight to look at the flash hole and see if there is any media stuck in the flash hole. The color of media/brass/primer may blend together or contrast depending on the combo. A tap or three on a hard surface might dislodge some media, but then again, it may not. With the cost/availability of primers, I would inspect 'em in some fashion to see what I would do next. JMO

·
Registered
5,265 Posts
You are not the first! (If that makes you feel any better :( )

If you tumble some brass in corn cob, you have cob in some of the the flash holes, sure as the sun will rise. And it doesn't just fall out that I've ever experienced.

Take a few rounds, load 'em up with a set of clear flash holes as controls, and take them to the range. They will pretty much work just fine, or at least they will with an un-compressed load when I tried it.

It's non-ideal, but not a disaster, or worth dumping precious primers for these days, if you're just making practice loads.