Shooters Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen,
I've read several mentions of certain powders having certain characteristics; clean burning, low flash, good for cast bullets, leaves unburned powder in barrel, etc. Is there a single source of this kind of info? I have found listings comparing burn rates, but nothing else. I'm interested mainly in powders for a 44 Mag. 1894 (296, 2400, 4227, etc.). Can you help me out?

·
Registered
59 Posts
Full loads of 2400 produce the best accuracy in my Ruger SBH with all bullets. W296 & H110 seem to burn a little cleaner.

·
Registered
4,165 Posts
Good question. I have limited experience but this is what I have worked with.

IMR4227 Leaves unburned powder in 1894 barrel. I am scared that could cause damage by errosion.

Universal. Seems to be clean and at 9.5 with a 220 gr bullet it ought to be a good load. 1894 shoots 4 inch and better if I am at 50 yds. I shot today at 100 yds but had trouble with the target out that far with iron sights. Still did 4 out of 6 rounds inside 4 inches but not on zero. Shoots groups better than me at 25 yds in the SBH.

Green Dot. Shoots very accurate low power lead loads. Good for this in mag and specials. I like the smoke.

·
Registered
935 Posts
After all these years with the 44 mag I still have not been able to predict how clean a load will burn until I look down the fired barrel.  Though most of my experience is in 44 mag hadguns, I do shoot an 1894.  I have seen 2400, H-110, AA-5 and AA-9 shoot very dirty and I have seen them all shoot cleaner than I had a right to expect.  Still, I have a couple of suggestions for you to try.  

First, read Marshall Stanton's article on developing a maximum load.  I am not suggesting max loads at all but Marshall expains the process of getting a synergy of primer, brass, bullet, crimp, powder as they effect the pressure curve.  When you get a proper pressure curve, the load tends to burn very cleanly.