Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from Scotland

At present i have been reloading only for my .308 and have simply been using the Lee scoop that comes with the collect die and N140 powder, seems to work ok !

Now i require to reload for the .444 and 325 gn bullets i like the simpleness of the scoop and at most i will be loading 100 at a time probavly less 50 or so.

Do you think the Lee scoop set would be up to my requirements ?

As i said im pretty new to reloading and am a hunter not a paper puncher so really accuracy to 200 yards is all i need.

I have been told by my local gun shop  he will not sell the Lee safety scales due to experence of it "sticking".
Yet others have said it is agood product.

Money is an issue to, not that im poor just i what some thing simple effective that will get the job done. And a can not see the point in buying expensive equipment for my humble needs.

So im only reloading for two possible three different rifle calibres .308/.444 im in no hurry and only load 50- 100 at one sitting.

What would you recommed ?

Reagrds Englander

·
Registered
188 Posts
Lee sells a a complete dipper set that would satisify your requirements. Just be sure to stay away from max loads as the variation the dippers allow could cause problems with over charges.

God Bless

Terry

·
Registered
18 Posts
I would be very hesitant to load anything by volume without a scale to check the charge.  They are somewhat expensive but worth every cent (shilling?, pence? in Scotland) just for the peace of mind.  I have a 25 year old Ohaus 10-10 that just keeps working perfectly.  This scale is currently sold by RCBS and other manufacturers for about $100.  The 5-05 goes for about $65.  The Lee safety scale only weighs to 110 gr, which will handle your powder needs, but will not be able to weigh bullets.  You usually get what you pay for.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,226 Posts