Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am relatively new to the details of Hand Loading and have found little in explanations about the variation in burn rate of a given powder with the pressure at which it is burned.
Intuitively, I think that the 'burn rate of a powder would be affected by many things such as it's chemical composition, the form or geometry of the powder, the size of the powder grain, any surface treatments, Combustion Pressure among others.
I also believe a plot of the burn rate vs time vs combustion pressure would be useful in selecting powders for applications but I have found only "Relative burn rate tables" which do not indicate the conditions under which the selections were made in order of listing.

Has there been any research into this?

Are there published data or diagrams of the characteristics?

Is this even Germain to Hand Loading load development?

Best Regards,
Chev. William

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Thank you for the three references.
The first would not load on my computer beyond page 14.
The second startled me with the $115 dollar price if i wanted to read the page cited.
The third, I gave up on after 10 minutes waiting for the first page to appear while it was still loading.
I may need to look for another computer to look at them on.

·
Registered
2,761 Posts
Intuitively, I think that the 'burn rate of a powder would be affected by many things such as it's chemical composition, the form or geometry of the powder, the size of the powder grain, any surface treatments, Combustion Pressure among others.