what distance do you all practice at
I am pretty new to handguns so I do most of my practice at 25 yds and closer
I use a iron sighted Ruger Super Blackhawk in 44 magnum
Just curious is all
thanks

·
Registered
2,620 Posts
Generally 25 yds as thats the distance of my range in the backyard. However, when ranges permit I'll shoot 100m standing and have taken shots out to 300m with my issued M9 in Iraq (known distance range was 485yds max)

CD

·
Registered
385 Posts
21 feet and 45 feet on silhoette targets, 75 feet for bullseye targets. the first 2 are defensive ranges and the last for competitive shooting. i've taken deer out as far as 100 yards with a .44Mag and you should practice some at that range if you plan to shoot at that distance. other than scoped bottleneck cartridge handguns the best you'll do is pie plate sized groups at that range anyway. anyone telling you otherwise is pulling your leg. even the best bullseye shooter do no better than 2.5" groups at 25 yards, so multiply that times 4 at 100.

·
Registered
750 Posts
Never closer than 10yds, not usually over 50yds. I do some handgun hunting, while I don't usually take shots over 50yds, I know what my hunting guns are capable of out to 75yds.

15-25yds is a good distance for target shooting.

·
Banned
3,948 Posts
Now days my wife and I only are concerned with defending ourselvers against the criminal issue of our society. In thus doing, we practice at 5ft, 10ft, 15ft & 21 ft most of the time and always moving away from the threat wihile shooting at paper plates set up at the range.
Once the CCW practice is over we shoot at 15 and 25 yard targets at slow fire. Seldom do we shoot over 50 rounds each for this type of practice. Our main focus is getting to our carry gun in a hurry and putting those shots on target as we move away from the threat.

·
Registered
5,237 Posts