Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks,

This is my first time posting here, so forgive me if this is not the correct spot to pose this question.

I am very interested in the specifics about blowback gun physics. Not with bullets mind you, but the pressure they exert on guns and how that pressure is distributed to the slide, casing and .

Here are my questions:

-How is the pressure inside the chamber measured? Pounds of force?
-About how much pressure is exerted onto the slide?
-Are there specs availiable to people like me who want to know how muc pressure is required to cycle say, a Glock 19, Sig P226, or 1911?

I have done some google searching tonight, but I can't find any of this information.

Any help would be appreciated.

-R

·
Registered
3,312 Posts
A warm welcome.

I'll put this in simple terms and Uncle Nick will come along with the full scientific lingo; pick the version that leaves you scratching your head less.

Chamber pressure is measured in pounds per square inch - or that's the idea. In earlier days they used a measuring method that didn't exactly measure psi, but they called it psi. It really doesn't mater if it's called beezers per square gidgin as long as it's applied uniformly. Guns work at some amazingly high pressures, with shotguns being lowest, then rimfires, then handguns and finally rifles at the highest pressures.