Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Could someone tell me if dillon .45 LC dies are ok to use to reload .454 casull ? I'm not new to reloading but I am new to the .454 casull. I load on a dillon 650 and have had no porblems at all for eight years. I called dillon customer service and was told to use the .45LC dies to load the .454 casull. Later I read on freedom arms web site that you shold never use anything but dies made for .454 casull. Freedom arms say's that the die specs are different , can any one tell me which dies work best for .454 casull round on a dillon press?
thanks taz:confused:

·
Registered
103 Posts
I started using Lee dies on a dillon 550. They were marked .45L.C.-.454 Casull. I did have some trouble with them on occasion. Maybe freedom arms is right because when I switched to thier dies the problems went away.( mostly difficulty chambering). Dillon makes good dies, but why take a chance, you will only save money if they DO work.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
.454 dies.

The dillon dies work ok in so much as the rounds chamber all right, but the bullets are being seated off center in the case far enough to see and feel. Mabey I'm just paranoid but FA's site says that could dammage the forceing cone. So I guess I'm looking for a new set of dies.
Taz

·
Registered
103 Posts
Are your bullets off center when you load .45 colt ammo? An off center bullet doesn't sound like a tolerance problem, more like a die problem. Is your bullet seating stem centered in the die?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
.454 dies

No my .45 LC rounds load just fine but i use a seperate set of dies . I always set up a new die plate for every calibar. I have put a set of .454 hornaday dies on order and will try them as soon as the get here. They may or may not make any difference but I'll feel better with the right dies.
Thanks Taz

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,228 Posts