Shooters Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hiya, Im a newbie.
Heres my question: I picked up a savage 116 lh in 300 win mag. The 2pc weaver mounts are too far apart to have a scope fit. I oriented the bases so the notches for the rings are as close as possible, but both my simmons scopes have too short of a distance between the bells that house the lenses. They are full size scopes, a 2x8x44mm and a 2x10x50mm.
Im thinking that either the bases are wrong (need maybe extented front base? )
Theres no difference in the overall lengths of scopes, are there??
Thanks much!
MIke

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,992 Posts
Welcome to the board, Olyeller - I'm sure you will enjoy it.

Yes, there IS a difference in the scope tube length of various scope manufacturers, as well as where they locate the adjustment turret. Some scopes have a fairly long tube (Leupold) and some have a short tube (Simmons). To accomodate, you will have to put an extension mount on either the front, rear or perhaps, both mounting taps on the receiver.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,321 Posts
You need longer scopes. There seems to be a trend toward compact scopes these days - good writeup by John Barsness one or two issues back in the Rifle/Handloader/Successful Hunter magazines. I just got a Handloader so it's probably one of the other two.

Don't suppose you tried a one-piece base? Weaver bases are pretty cheap, should be less than ten bucks.

I see the word "Leupold" in your future....

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Wow guys, thanks for the quick replies! I am partial to Leupolds, but I had one Simmons that I really liked, and that gave me some brand loyalty. Like why Ill never put a burris on a rifle. Im gonna get an extended front base and try that first. One piece mounts in a LH Savage can only be had in gloss.
I know I probably should pick up one of those vx-1's and give that a try.