Shooters Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi! is a 260gr cast bullet to heavy for my 356win? i'm looking at 175yds or so on whitetails. what would be a good load with this bullet? should i just cast 200gr instead? thanks for your time.

·
Registered
445 Posts
356 Shooter,

Hello from a fellow owner of said caliber. I am not sure that I am the one to answer your question. I am a beginner at both handloading/cast bullets. One thing I am good at though....asking more questions! Here are a few things that have danced through my cranium...fellas correct me if I'm wrong:

Most load data for the 356 seems to only go up to 250 grains(Speer lists to only 220 but M.L. McPherson's lists for 250's). This has always suprised me as the 356 in a 20 inch tube only lags behind the 358 by a small margin(using Flat Pointed Bullets). Most of this difference is accounted for by a 2" shorter barrel. I haven't seen any loads for heavier than 250 granis in 356 Win., though perhaps there is for it's close cousin the 358 Winchester or some other manual lists them. As you probably know, you can't interchange info between the two as the internal case dimensions are different.