Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting into casting bullets for my .357 and .41 magnum revolvers. I'm starting on a small budget for now. I'll be using Lee moulds for both calibers, and they will produce the tumble lube type bullets. I plan to size them using Lee sizing dies and then lube them with Lee Liquid Allox. Now the questions...

Should I lube the bullets before I run them through the Lee sizing die or after? Should I lube them both before and after sizing? All information will be appreciated. Thank you. :confused:

·
Super Moderator
13,632 Posts
You should try loading the Tumble Lube bullets without sizing. Only size them if the loaded rounds are too fat to chamber in your gun. The TL designs are intended to work as-cast, and as-cast bullets, when they work out to fit, will generally cause less leading than sized bullets. That is thought to be due to the sizing corrupting the surface crystal structure in a way that spreads a short distance into the bullet over time. Barrel time is too short for that to occur when the bullet is sized on its way down the barrel.

Sizing is mainly needed for bullets with regular lube grooves, many of which are too big to work out as-cast. In the case of having such bullets, use the Liquid Alox lube first, size, then reapply the lube. That will give you some extra lube, but bullets don't size easily if a little lube isn't in the die, whether you put it on the bullet or it is left by the previously lubed bullet. Alternately, you can dip them in mineral spirits for sizing (it will lube them enough for that) then apply Liquid Alox after the mineral spirits dry off.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the info Uncle Nick. I'll just plan on lubing them before and after sizing. Not a big problem...to me at least.