Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering using quick release mounts on a muzzleloader (so I can take scope off for cleaning).

Would appreciate thoughts on quick release mounts in genereal and specific recommendations about brands. I have never used quick release mounts before.

Thanks.

·
Registered
816 Posts
I have heard good things about the Warne Quick Detach rings. A friend of mine put them on a muzzle loader for the same reason you want to. He told me he can take it off and on without any return to zero issues but I can't personally attest to this. I will say I have used the Warne permanent rings on three different rifles and have been completely satisfied with them. I'm sure the QD rings are built with the same quality. They make a good strong ring for a reasonable price. However, the quick detach rings are considerably more expensive than the standard rings. Probably the only way you are going to know is to buy some and get it zeroed, take the scope off, remount and shoot it to see if the zero shifts. It will probably help if you use a good precise mount to attach the rings to and I would be inclined to mate the rings up with a mount of the same brand to ensure the best tolerances. Just my two cents.

·
Registered
816 Posts
Here is a quote from Warne's site about their rings.