Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please, provide your recomendations for referances and/or software for predicting wildcat performance, and assisting with load developement. As I mentioned I am new at this and can use all the supporting materials and aids I can secure.

I know that the cartridge will physically function and is the largest that can ( without the move to a custom extruded case ), but I need to refine my performance predictions. Also, if you can help with these predictions: I will be using BTB bullets. The barrel length will be 20". The case capacity is 40 grains of water for the case cut to the seating depth and 50 grains to the mouth. The current cases are somewhat hourglass shaped until fireforming or dies are available, final capacity should be about 42 to 44 grains. Since I would rather be happy about the extra powder space than disapointed I am working from the 40 grains.

Thanks,
Fireplug

·
Registered
628 Posts
Fireplug,

The first reference I'd look at would be Powley's Computer.......used to be a set of charts and graphs before there were computers, but its now available on a CD for your computer.

Lobo in NM

·
Banned
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
El Lobo,

Do you have a source for the Powley's Computer CD? Knowing that I should have it, I have done search after search on several engines and Have been unable to find a source.

Thanks,
Fireplug

·
Registered
628 Posts
Fireplug,

I've seen it advertized in "American Rifleman" and "Handloader" but not in every issue.  Let me look through a few back issues.  I'll also post on the Marlin Talk website, and the CBA listserv.  Someone surely can give us a lead.

Lobo in NM

·
Registered
6,645 Posts
Powley's computer is a card board slide rule.
I like mine but the more modern computer types will like loads from a disk a little better.