Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been confused to no end on MOA and the references. i understand the 1MOA is 1" @100yds and so on. now, does that mean that if you are sighted in at 200yds, the MOA for a 400yd shot would be 2MOA? or because it is at 400yds, it would be the 4MOA? and is there any data sheets that have a generalized MOA calculation for distance?

·
Banned
604 Posts
OK, fair question. 1 minute of angle is 1" at 100 yards ... 1 minute of angle is 4" at 400 yards. 3" @ 300 yards and so on. A weapon that will shoot into 1 minute of angle at 100 yards should theoretically shoot 2" at 200 yards, 3" at 300 yards. Theoretically! We all wish it were always so.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so, how does the MOA relate to adjusting for distance? im new to MOA and all that. if the estimated distance is 2MOA, that would mean i would adjust the turret 8clicks in the direction needed for comensation?

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,950 Posts
OK, Guys - let's keep this simple. No need to confuse the issue with getting into the grass hairs of One Minute Angle. Just assume 1MOA is equal to 1.0".

Comvet - Welcome to the board. Main rule is to play nice with others and respect all postings. If you will do an Archives search on the board, you'll find lots of previous discussion on this issue. In fact, merely scroll down to the bottom of this page and under "Similar threads", click on the listed threads regarding MOA.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks kdub. im also printing out and doing some research on the army FM covering their sniper training, hopefully that will help out some too. im currently deployed and hoping to go sniper. just thought i could use the sniper training and MOA to help with hunting too.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·