Shooters Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I am completely new to reloading buckshot, I have done some birdshot but i realize this is a completely different animal. I just bought a MEC Steelmaster (3.5 inch reloader)

I am looking for advice and/or recipes for reloading 12ga 3.5" buckshot. I have found plenty of data on 00BK. However I really want to use 1BK, 0BK LEAD. I am curios if anyone has done this and is willing to give me some advice! Any advice on reloadeing 3.5" period would be great.

Types of wads to use for 3.5" lead buckshot? Do I need to use a gas seal if I use a wad?

I have purchased a couple of reloading manuals and have read them from front to back some call for a wad, some just a gas seal, some both wad and gas seal, some call for the "filler between the pellets" some dont. I am a little lost on where to go from here. Any advice or suggestion to websites/books would be great.

Thanks,

Dale S. Winstead

·
Registered
1,213 Posts
I have loaded a bunch of 3" 12 gauge and 3 1/2 10 gauge buckshot. The wads I use for all my heavy loads are bpi multi metal. I got the info to get me started from bpi. Shot size is irrelevant to powder charge its the weight of your shot you need to be focused on. I cast my buckshot with a harder alloy and it really improved the pattern. The powder I used was unique, blue dot and, steel.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
MJYeagle, Did you use a buffer every time? I bought the BPI buckshot and shotgun reloading manuals and see in the recipes from BPI, that it doesnt always call for it? Doesn't it improve pattern?

Just curios why all the recipies dont call for it? All the manufacturered shells have it

·
Registered
1,368 Posts
Since you are focusing on 0B loads here is a data source you may wish to consider: