Shooters Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First post here, and I'm new to reloading and even shooting. 2 years ago I hadn't even shot a gun, and buddy of mine got me into it. I first bought a 870 express in 12g, then a Taurus PT-145, and now a 700 ADL chambered for the .300 win mag with a 26" barrel. 1/10 twist.

I bought the 700 new from Cabelas last year, and it came with a Cabelas 3-12x40 scope. For a scope that just came with a gun I'm impressed with it's clarity.

Anyway, the first ammo I bought for the sight in was the cheapest stuff I could find at $25 a box: Federal Power-Shok with 180gr Speer Hot-Cor bullets. I also bought a $40 box of Hornady 180gr SST that I figured I'd use for hunting afer using the federal's for sighting in.

After sighting in 1.5" high at 100 yards, it was dead on at 200 yards. The hornady ammo barely hits paper at 200 yards, while the cheap Federal yields sub .5" groups at 100 yads, and consistent .75" groups at 200 yards! Needless to say I bought a couple more boxes of the federal ammo. Also, because of how fast this things heats up I only shoot 4 shot groups and then let it cool for 10 minutes.

Even at $25 a box, it was too costly to shoot this all the time. I have a yearly pass to the range, so I'm there all the time.

So, I bought the Lee Anniversary reloading kit, a RCBS 750 digital scale, RCBS neck sizer, Lee bullet seater, Lee full length sizer, and a Titan caliper.

I saw good reviews on the Sierra Game King bullets and Speer Hot-Cor, so I bought 100 of each in 180gr. I also figured since the Federal ammo my gun loves shoots the same Speer bullet I'd get similar results.

WRONG

I'm using once-fired federal brass that was shot in my 700, CCI large rifle magnum primers, and IMR 7828 powder. Since the brass was first shot in my gun, I'm only neck sizing and triming the brass.