Shooters Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about getting into reloading (have been, for too long as a matter of fact), and I was wondering what types of books all of you folks would suggest? I know the basics about it, but let's pretend I have no more knowledge than a very healthy amount of time spent at the range.

I'd like to learn about different brands and types of presses, what a die does, what a slower burning powder is used for, and what a faster burning powder is used for. The difference in a large primer and a small one. Why I might want to weigh my brass...absolutely everything.

So, what books (or even videos?) would you reccomend?

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
37,095 Posts
I'd start out with the ABC's of Reloading. I loaned out my 3rd edition, no idea where it is. There have been several more since then.

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
Modern Reloading by Richard Lee. Most recommend Lymans.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,914 Posts
Any of the above are good reads, especially the Lyman 49th edition if you want to check various loadings, also.

·
Registered
6,660 Posts
All of the above…

Go to scribd and down load Phil Sharps Complete Guide to Handloading for the complete view of handloading. This book also has a very good outline of powder history, manufacture and general characteristics.

Go to your library and ask for an interlibrary loan of Townsend Whelen’s Why Not Load Your Own? For a very good basic description of how to set up dies and how they work.

Then ask your library for a loan on J.R. Mattern’s Handloading Ammunition.

These will get you started and the modern books will bring you up to speed on where we are at today.

·
Banned
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks.

I got to take a peak at the Modern Reloading book today. Man, I'd have to say...this looks like it may be THE book for a beginning reloader today...especially if they're using Lee equipment.

·
Registered