Shooters Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,
I've been reloading for some 36 years now and am about to get my first 10 ga (SP10)and am looking forward to reloading for it. I plan to use it for Goose (steel) and probably Turkey (lead or ?). I have used the MEC 600 jr for years as well as the 8567 and 9000g, I see they have a 600 jr for the 10 ga as well as the Steelmaster, I'm wondering if the 600 jr will do all I need for the 10ga? I plan to load BBB and T steel and think I read somewhere with the bigger shot to weigh and charge individually versus using the charge bar for shot? I would guess for Turkey as I usually use #5's I could use the charge bar? I plan to get the Ballistic products 10 ga manual, I'm sure that will have some good loads to try, but any good tips or ideas will be welcome.
Regards,
Trapper

·
Registered
543 Posts
I have had several presses, and have found the best solution for me was to measure the shot and powder outside the press. With any single stage press, you have to take the shell out to move stations anyway. I have always used a shot measuring cup for any large shot because the charge bar will fight with the pellets, and the universal charge bar is no exception. You can make one easy enough out of a fired Winchester AA case or similar, or the Lee powder measure cup set will usually work well (you may need 2 scoops). Be advised that you will probably need a different cup for every different size and material if you are serious, which I was. I also used a powder measure to make sure I was dead on the money, all the time.

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
I weigh the shot and powder outside of the press when loading 10 ga. Load a lot of large shot, T, and they are easy to count. I think the number is 67 for the load I use. I block off an old primer tray to the correct # of holes. It is easy to see the right count.

Don

·
Registered
1,881 Posts