Shooters Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading shotshells. I reload metallic all the time and am finding there is a big difference. I understand you do not want to deviate from printed load data for a specific hull, etc.

Has anyone reloaded Winchester Universal? Any load data out there?

Thanks

Eric Horton

·
Banned
72 Posts
reloading winchester universal12ga.

eric im not sure i understand what you are asking. but lets see if we can help you. i think you may be asking if you can load winchester hulls with universal powder? well this ok you can . what you need to do is get a lyman loading manual for shotguns. you are right you need to stay real close to the given loads shotguns are not as forgiving as matelic. any way lyman is the best in my humbel opion but there are others and ill admit that i do use others .:)

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
37,100 Posts
Hodgdon doesn't show the "winchester universal" as a type of hull on their load data site, I'm guessing these are cheap promotional loads. Look down into one of them and see if it has a separate base wad, as opposed to one-piece construction. Or section one - it should be obvious.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Winchester is putting out an inexpensive box of shells called "Universal" it is a standard 12ga with 23/4 length, 1 1/8 oz number 7.5 shot. Velocity is 1200fps.

From reading the Lyman, it has me a little worried that I should not pick load data that is "close", but exact. Pressures change significantly and I don't want to risk gun damage or me damage :)

Gat64 mentioned to look down the hull and see about the base wad. Are there general things I can look for to determine hull type and then find appropriate load data?

·
Banned
1,069 Posts