Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to know if anyone out there has one of these light varment stainless synthetics in 22-250 and if you have been able to get any serious groups with handloads. I have tried many different bullet and powder combinations and I cannot get it to shoot much less than 1" at 100 yards. I love to antelope hunt with this rifle and so I am trying to utilize a better quality bullet like the 55 grain game king from Sierra. Any info would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,225 Posts
Sounds like its shooting pretty good to me. Sometimes we strain at gnats.

·
Inactive member
1,648 Posts
I've been plalying with 22-250 loads for about two months now, working up loads for a Tikka 22-250 Varmint 1:14 twist barrel. Based on my results to this point, mine does not like 55 grain bullets. My best groups are coming with 50gr Nosler Ballistic Tips #39522 and 36.6 grains of Varget. These are normally one hole groups at 100yds and approx one inch at 400. The best I've been able to get from 55gr Hornady VMax's has been approx 3/4" at 100 and 2.5 - 3" at 400. The 50 grains are only giving me 18" of drop at 400 with 100yd zero. However, these are varmint bullets and the biggest thing I ever plan to shoot with mine is a coyote and 400 yards is about the max these bullets are recommend for something their size. Antelope are a right smart larger than the yotes, so I don't think I would even try anything past 200yds on antelope with a 22-250, even then it would not be a varmint bullet. If I ever thought I might ever try, it would be with a lot better bullet than a varmint.

·
Registered
3,508 Posts