Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been wanting to shoot .44 Special with wadcutters for a while. I have a bunch of hard-cast 200 grain RNFP. I thought I'd load them backwards to make a wadcutter. But I've never done that before and am wondering whether they will be as accurate as real wadcutters would be. Anyone have experience in doing this?

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
38,092 Posts
It's going to eat up more powder space, so be sure to adjust your loads accordingly. If you can find wadcutter data for the same weight, should be ok. Might make an interesting experiment. Accuracy will probably depend on bullet fit to the chamber mouth & bore, more so than which direction the bullet is pointed.

"Hard cast" and ".44 Special" would seem to be on opposite ends of the spectrum...... at .44 Special load levels, a bullet that is too hard may be a detriment to accuracy, and actually cause worse fouling than you might think.

It will take some shooting to find out.

·
Super Moderator
14,099 Posts
Long ago (before WWI, anyway, Harry Pope said "the base steers the bullet." This is a sort of simplistic way of acknowledging that muzzle blast has to play off the bullet base with essentially perfect symmetry to get the most precision in shot placement (the smallest group). Small errors in base symmetry can cause lateral drift away from the intended trajectory because the muzzle blast plays off of it unevenly, pushing the bullet to one side. Nose defects have much less effect on precision because drag on the nose is exerted in the opposite direction every time the bullet turns 180°, causing it to neutralize the deflection caused 180° earlier. But muzzle blast on the base of the bullet has most of its effect in the first few calibers of bullet travel and before the bullet can turn 180°, so there is no equal-and-opposite neutralizing influence for pressure on the base.