Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a chance to purchase some CCI BR2 and BR4 rifle primers at a Great price. I have never used these before, are they the same as CCI 400 small rifle and CCI 200 orimers. What is the difference.

Thanks

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,995 Posts
The BR designates bench rest quality vs. standard quality .

Please find the appropriate forum to place future postings. Thank you.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Sorry If I posted in the wrong place I thought it was a good place to ask the question.
I still do not have an answer what is the difference or does it matter.

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
The BR designation means "Bench Rest". I have found these to be the "best of the best" primers. This is only my personal experience and I have no hard data to back that up...but I have gotten my best groups over the years using the CCI BR brand.

Here is my best group in 204 Ruger using the CCI Small Rifle BR Primers. My 2nd best was barely bigger.

Handwriting Font Symmetry Circle Parallel

My local guy was selling them for $10.99 and retail now is $11.99.

Good luck and all the best.

·
Registered
156 Posts
You may find more consistency in the ones labeled BR or M (match). It depends on your intended use to some extent. Some loads will shoot better with the BR/M primers, some will not. Most serious centerfire competitors start with the BR/M primers, but certainly will test the regular primers when working up a new load.

·
Registered
50 Posts

kdub, could you please help me decide what would be an appropriate forum if I were to ask a similar question? If I had this question, I would have also put it in this forum so before I make such a mistake, please help me out.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
23,995 Posts