Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
415 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks. I'm new to the wonderful world of the shooter's forum, and I kind of figured this is as good a place to start as any.

I need your help. I've been searching for a really good rifle rest, but I just haven't been able to find what I'm looking for. I'm beginning to think that, as with so many things, I'll have to build it myself to get what I'm after.

First things first.

There are alot of pretty **** decent rests out there. I think I've seen nearly all of them by now. Some rests look good, but just don't function well...wether it's a sloppy rail or screws, or a missing function (eg. course windage). Some rests function well, but they just don't absorb recoil. Yet other rests might function pretty well and absorb recoil, but look like some sort of sea monster.

Here's the beginning of my plan.

I want a rest that looks good. I want a rest that GREATLY reduces recoil, to make working up a load on a large caliber rifle a joy when it comes time to fire off dozens of rounds in one day. I want a rest that takes as much human error out of the equation as possible, for determining long range (say, 600-1000 yard) bullet placement, and in-flight bullet characteristics. I want a rest that I can pack up and load in the truck in only a few minutes, and take out to gopherville for an all-out all-day gopher shoot. I want something that has easy-to-use, intuitive controls...with initial setup being a precise job that would only have to be done once.

So here's what I need from you folks.

I need to know what sort of features you would like to have on your dream rest. I want to make sure I can design and build this thing only once, and have a dreamworthy rest. If you know of a rifle rest that has the feature you're after, let me know which rest it is...with a link or picture if possible.