Shooters Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have tons of experience with the Ruger 44 Mag 7.5 inch barrel, however I have no experience with the 4 5/8 or 5 1/2  inch barrels!
I am considering buying a Ruger 45. I was wondering what I would loose or gain  from the different barrel lengths. I am not worried about velocity at all!!!!!! I am worried about the site radius difference between the two. Experienced replys would be very much appreciated. I am well aware of the shorter vs longer site radius, but sometimes there are "extinuating circumstances (expert viewpoints)", that are not apperant! Does the  longer site radius really mean anything (what magnitude) when we are talking inside a 100 yards?
changeling

·
Registered
2,429 Posts
Sight radius is an interesting subject and I am sure you will get many Pro and Con answers. There is a good arguement that the longer the sight radius the better the handgun can be aligned. There is another factor that comes int play with old beatup eyes like mine....focal plane. From 1956 to the 70's I shot a 6.5" Blackhawk, then moving up tp the 7.5" Super Blackhawk. I had no trouble seeing the sights clearly. However in the last couple of years the sight in my damaged right eye has caused me to be able to see 6" barrel sight clearer. So.....it all boils down to what sight radius one can see best! Corrective lens in glasses do help as does a Merit Aperture.
Best Regards, James

(Edited by James Gates at 5:44 am on Oct. 10, 2001)

·
Registered
628 Posts
Hey Guys,