Shooters Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
looking for better sights that i can put on or customize on my blackhawk. i cant see the front in an accurate relatio0nship to the rear sight . any ideas.........

·
Registered
4,165 Posts
You could try paint first for better contrast. I used the flourecent stuff on mine and it seems to work OK. Considered the One-Ragged Hole conversion. I think Brownells has it. There are others out there too but they seem kind of pricey. For some reason after I started shooting a lot off hand, especially using the charging dangerous game format, the sights became less of a factor for me. I guess I just needed the practice.

·
The Hog Whisperer (Administrator)
36,461 Posts
Just how bad is it... hardly anyone can see the front & rear sights in focus at the same time.

What barrel length is causing the problem - often as we get older a move to a shorter barrel (sight radius) helps considerably.

Also, is this only a problem in the field against indistinct targets, or at the range also? On my Blackhawks I widen the notch in the rear sight. Isn't totally necessary at the range shooting at black/white targets, but helps a great deal shooting at a deer or hog.

Have you tried different color targets as well? Some sheets of blank paper and a couple of cans of different colors of spray paint may prove a worthwhile experiment.

Lastly, a device on your shooting glasses known as a Merit Disk can help keep objects at different distances in focus.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I dont like colared front or white outlined rears they may help in bad light but there hard to see in good light. The best Ive found is a post type front thinned to .10 to .12 and a bowen rear.

·
Registered
311 Posts
LLoyd,
I've never seen a Bowen sight.
How can It be better than the Ruger sight?
A flat black blade with a notch in it?