Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had one of these and what are your opinions on this revolver. Been wanting to get a revolver in 45 long colt, but the Colts are just out of my price range..
Steve

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I did find out today that the model p pre-war ones have changed to a 3 click hammer instead of the 4 click they have always had.

·
Registered
716 Posts
I had the artillery models when I started shooting SASS. Were fine until I came into some money and bought two Colt's. Can't take high pressure loads, so I had to separate my Ruger Only loads and my standard/cowboy loads. Good looking guns and many Colt parts (lighter springs fit).

·
Registered
566 Posts
Steve,

I have a Calvary Model (7.5" bbl) Uberti Cattleman in .357mag and a Army Model (5.5" bbl) Uberti Cattleman in .45 Colt to go with my leverguns I have in each caliber. My Uberti's are the original Cattleman with the fixed firing pin and internal design patterned after the 1st Gen Colts. I've added a spring kit to slick up both and they are a blast to shoot.

However, like the original Colt design they are not as strong as a Ruger and therefore I shoot watered down to .38spl level, .357mag loads and standard pressure (14,000psi or below) loads in my .45 Colt. With their grip design and high bore axis, they are more comfortable shooting non-magnum loads.

There is nothing like shooting a .45 Colt SAA Peacemaker style pistol. Tons of enjoyment and great balance. Yes, the sights are somewhat primitive but it's a pistol for fun, not a serious SD piece so go out and get yourself one. I recommend the 5.5" bbl SAA version as I like it's balance the best.

·
Registered
41 Posts
They are great guns

Top one came 4 click hammer , its a 45 colt CMS Pro Short Stroke with low hammer

Bottom one is a 44 special. I replaced the stupid 3 click retracto fire pin hammer with a standard 4 click low wide hammer