Shooters Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at this so please bare with me. I purchased a Savage Model 10 with the 20 inch Bull Barrel. My dad is excellent at reloading, but has not messed with .308 a lot. He is going to show me the ropes on reloading. But Long story short, I'm going to start reloading ammunition for my Model 10 and would like to save some time on trial and error. What is going to be the best load to start with as far as grain, amount of powder, ect. to get started with. All I will be doing is long target shooting, for the most part. Any help or advice is really appreciated.

·
The Troll Whisperer (Moderator)
24,115 Posts
Have you looked in any of the reloading manuals or bullet maker's websites for their recommendations?

You realize any internet individual recommendations are purely subjective.

Reactions: Novalondon

·
Elk Whisperer (Super Moderator)
11,166 Posts
What kdub said.

Sit down with the old man (he's welcome here too by the way :)) and see what he's got to say. Like my "old man" I've relied on Lyman manuals since I started reloading. The "accuracy" load they list is usually pretty close.

RJ

·
Registered
11,966 Posts
Welcome to the Shooter's Forum.

Afraid there is no short cut to accuracy. Just have to figure out which bullet your barrel likes and which powder it prefers to push it.

·
Registered
13,291 Posts
Welcome to Shooter's Forum, Cole.

In an interesting twist, I bought my son a Savage Model 10 FLP (left-hand) with 20" bull barrel, a couple years back. We were only going to shoot out to maybe 600 yards, so we chose the 155gr A-Max bullet, from Hornady. The powder we decided to use was H4895, mostly because I use it in a variety of other rifles, so we had a fair amount on hand.